Winners announced for 2018 Governor’s School STEM Awards

The winners of the fourth annual Governor’s School STEM Awards were recognised today at an awards ceremony at Government House.

Brookman Primary School won the primary school category for 2018. The school was recognised for its whole school approach and integration of STEM learning across the curriculum, successfully engaging students with the importance of STEM in their everyday lives and future.

Warwick Senior High School won the secondary school category for its strong leadership and commitment to a ‘STEM for all’ approach, demonstrating clear evidence of improved academic performance and student engagement with STEM skills.

Meritorious Leadership Awards were presented to Perth College and Comet Bay College as the runners-up in the primary and secondary categories respectively.

Finalists for 2018 were Bertram Primary School, Marmion Primary, Ocean Road Primary School, Perth College and Vasse Primary School in the primary school category, and Ashdale Secondary College, Comet Bay College and St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ School in the secondary school category.

The Honourable Wayne Martin AC, Lieutenant Governor, on behalf of the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia, thanked all schools for their commitment to excellence in STEM subjects.

Congratulations to all winners and finalist schools in this year’s Awards.

More information

Click on the image to save or enlarge

Governor with group of students and adults standing on stairs
The Hon Wayne Martin AC, Lieutenant Governor; Hon Dave Kelly MLA, Minister for Science and also representing the Minister for Education; Professor Peter Klinken AC, Chief Scientist of Western Australia; Ms Jennifer McGrath, Director General, Department of Education; Ms Rebecca Brown, Director General, Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation and students and staff from Brookman Primary School and Warwick Senior High School.


View all Articles
Skip to content