medals on a table

Western Australians honored in Australian Bravery Awards

The Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), today awarded Australian Bravery Decorations to 101 outstanding Australians who, without thought of personal risk, displayed courage and bravery to protect or defend others.

44 of the 101 recipients were recognised for bravery acts in Western Australia. We congratulate these men and women for their acts of bravery and their selflessness and generosity in helping others in need.

Two of the three Star of Courage medals will be awarded to West Australians – Senior Constable Stephanie Bochorsky and Mr Shaun McHenry. The Star of Courage is awarded for conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril.

Read more about each of the recipients in the official gazette (external link)

Western Australian recipients will be invited to attend an investiture ceremony in the coming months to receive the insignia of their award from the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia.

Anyone may nominate another person for an Australian Bravery Decoration.

Nationally, the following Australian Bravery Decorations are being awarded:

Star of Courage: 3
Bravery Medal: 29
Commendation for Brave Conduct: 36
Group Bravery Citation: 5

Fact file:

  • The Australian Bravery Decorations are part of the Australian Honours System (which was established in 1975), and recognise acts of bravery in other than warlike situations, by people who put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others.
  • The awards are the:
    • Cross of Valour (for conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril)
    • Star of Courage (for conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)
    • Bravery Medal (for bravery in hazardous circumstances)
    • Commendation for Brave Conduct (for acts of bravery which are considered worthy of recognition); and
    • Group Bravery Citation (for a collective act of bravery, by of group of persons in extraordinary circumstances).
  • The Cross of Valour is the non-combat equivalent of the Victoria Cross.
  • Since 1975 and including the awards announced today, there have been:
    • five awards of the Cross of Valour
    • 166 awards of the Star of Courage
    • 1,372 awards of the Bravery Medal
    • 2,137 Commendations for Brave Conduct; and
    • 188 awards of the Group Bravery Citation.
  • Nominations are considered by the Australian Bravery Decorations Council, which is an independent advisory body that meets twice a year to consider nominations and make recommendations to the Governor-General for awards. The Council, chaired by Dr Penny Flett AO, also recommends the level of awards.
  • For more information about Australian Bravery Awards, visit or
View all Articles
Skip to content