governor speaks behind lectern to room of people
The Governor and guests in the historic Music Room

18th December 2019 • Hosted 2020 Australian of the Year (WA) finalists & recipients

The Governor and Ms Annus hosted a dinner to celebrate and acknowledge the work of the 2020 Australian of the Year (WA) Award finalists and recipients.

The Australian of the Year Awards for Western Australia are coordinated by Auspire – The Australia Day Council of Western Australia (external link)

The Awards are the State/Territory level of the Australian of the Year Awards (external link). Here, State and Territory selection committees select four nominees for each Award category, with one of these nominees being announced as the State/Territory Award recipient. The National Australia Day Council Board select the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 State and Territory Recipients.

2020 Australian of the Year (WA) Awards

16 finalists were considered for the 2020 Australian of the Year (WA) Awards ceremony in November. Four recipients were selected and announced on the night. These individuals will now be considered in the national 2020 Australian of the Year Awards.

The recipients of the four awards were:

  • WA Australian of the Year – Mrs Annie Fogarty
  • WA Senior Australian of the Year – Professor John Newnham AM
  • WA Young Australian of the Year – Mr Yarlulu Thomas
  • WA Local Hero – Ms Suzy Urbaniak

Read more about the recipients (external link)

The Governor is Patron of Auspire.

View all Articles
Skip to content