graphic illustration of swan river and infrastructure
An artist’s impression of the WACA Ground improvements. Photo credit: WACA

Governor’s Patronage – WACA welcome funding announcement

The Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA) and Cricket Australia have welcomed a $30 million funding investment from the Federal Government towards the WACA Ground Improvement Project.

The $30 million commitment will help transform the State’s oldest and most famous sporting ground into a multi-sport boutique venue that will invigorate the East Perth precinct, provide equitable training facilities for elite sporting teams and complement Optus Stadium.

The plans to improve the home of cricket in WA will have a strong community focus with year-round access for the WA community, in addition to providing modern high performance facilities, a ground suitable for Australian rules football and other sports, and a multi-sport indoor facility.

Click here for more about the WACA Ground Improvement Project.

The Governor is Patron of the WACA and a keen cricket fan.

The WACA and Governor’s Patronage

The WACA is a long standing Governor’s Patronage organisation.

This connection began in 1889, when His Excellency Sir Frederick Broome KCMG (11th Governor of WA) recommended to the Commissioner of Crown Lands, and later the inaugural Premier of Western Australia Sir John Forrest GCMG, to provide a 999-year lease to the WACA for a parcel of land including its current grounds.

This enabled the WACA to establish the first-class playing field it is now known for throughout the world.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup at the WACA 2020

Five matches will be played at the WACA Ground in what will be a three-day festival in the opening weekend of the tournament.

2016 Champions the West Indies will feature in the first match in Perth as a part of a Saturday double-header that will also feature Sri Lanka playing New Zealand.

2018 Finalists England will play South Africa under lights on Sunday 23 February, with a blockbuster double-header to follow on Monday 24 February featuring hosts and defending Champions Australia against Sri Lanka and a match featuring India under lights.


View all Articles
Skip to content