governor speaks at lectern in park with people

21st January 2020 • Auspire’s Australia Day 2020 Launch

The Governor attended the Australia Day Council WA – Auspire’s ‘Inspiring Australians Breakfast’.

The WA 2020 Australian of the Year recipients were officially acknowledged at the event as they prepare to depart for Canberra tomorrow (22nd January) for the national Australian of the Year (external link) announcement on Australia Day eve.

Read the Governor’s speech

On 8 November 2019, four WA Australian of the Year recipients were announced:

  • Annie Fogarty (Australian of the Year)
  • Prof John Newnham (Senior Australian of the Year)
  • Yarlalu Thomas (Young Australian of the Year)
  • Suzy Urbaniak (Local Hero)

Read about each recipient’s achievements (external link)

governor laughs with group of people
man dances behind couple taking photo
The Governor with Ms Anne-Marie Farley, General Manager Programs, Auspire – The Australia Day Council (WA) and City of Perth Chair Commissioner Mr Andrew Hammond
View all Articles
Skip to content