medals on a table

76 West Australians recognised in the Australia Day 2020 Honours List

Congratulations to all Western Australians recognised in the Australia Day 2020 Honours List for exceptional service or achievement in our community.

The Governor-General and Chancellor of the Order of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), has announced 1,099 awards in the Australia Day 2020 Honours List which recognise outstanding and inspirational Australians.

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia will formally invest Western Australian recipients with the insignia of their appointments and awards at an Investiture Ceremony in April.

Western Australian recipients

76 Western Australians were recognised across the following categories:

  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), for distinguished service of a high degree to Australia or to humanity at large: 3
  • Member of the Order of Australia (AM), for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group: 19
  • Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), awarded for service worthy of particular recognition: 34
  • Distinguished and Conspicuous: 1
  • Meritorious: 19

Among those recognised were:

  • The late Mr Eric Lumsden PSM, former City of Perth Chair Commissioner.
  • Mr Adam Voges (Played 20 Test Matches, 31 One Day International’s and 7 T20s between 2007-2016. Named in the International Cricket Council Team of the Year, 2016. Captain, Prime Ministers XI, 2017)
  • Ms Christine Simpson Stokes (Trustee, Channel 7 Telethon Trust, current. Ambassador, ‘Kimberley Girl’ – Young Indigenous Women’s Leadership Program, current, and Former Patron)


Read biographical notes for each recipient on the Governor General’s website


Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Emeritus Professor Bloomfield

Mr Ronald Dullard

Mr Peter Hood

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia                        

Dr Geoffrey Boughton

Mr Bruce Brown

Mr Lyndon Brown

Mr Shane Colquhoun

Mrs Sara David

Dr Ian Fairnie

Mr Murray Lampard

The late Mr Eric Lumsden

Mr Graham McKenzie-Smith

Ms Patricia Murray

Dr Anthony Mylius

The Honourable Fredrick Riebeling

Mr Gary Roberts

Dr Errol Seymour

Mr Keith Slater

Ms Christine Simpson Stokes

Emeritus Professor Vivian Sunderland

Mr Robert Torrance

Mr Daniel Tucker

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division

Mr Glenn Baker

Mrs Jahna Cedar

Mr James Clarke

Mr Andrew Coad

Mr Leif Cocks

Mr Simon Cubitt

Mr Ivo Douglas  Davies

Ms Kira Fong

Mrs Eileen Giles

Mrs Pamela Hamence

Mr David Hicks

Mrs Mary Hutton

Mrs Julie Keamy

Mr Gregory Keighery

Mrs Bronwen Keighery

Mr David Kerr

Mr Richard Kidd

Mrs Daliah Moss

Mr Glenn Muskett

Mrs Margaret Owen

Mr Maxwell Page

Ms Patricia Powell

Mrs Donna Prytulak

Mrs Marjorie Quinn

Mrs Joanna Randell

Mr Graeme Robertson

Mr Malcolm Small

Mr Arthur Stanton

Ms Christine Thompson

Mr John Thornton

The Reverend Dr Jennifer Turner

Mr Adam Voges

Mr Michael Zekulich

Medal (OAM) Of The Order Of Australia In The Military Division

Warrant Officer Anthony Donald O’Riley

Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC), Royal Australian Navy

Captain Daniel John LeRaye

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM)     

Mr Samuel Dinah

Ms Cassandra Gilbert

Mr Benjamin Leadbeatter

Mr Gregory Little

Ms Leith Thomas

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)  

Mr Mark Bowen

Dr Neil Burrows

Mr Richard Lawrey

Australian Police Medal (APM)

Deputy Commissioner Blanch

Superintendent  Dario Bolzonella

Senior Constable Jesney

Sergeant Johnson

Ambulance Service Medal (ASM)

Mr Christopher Oakes

Mr David Saunders

Mr Austin Whiteside

Emergency Services Medal (ESM)

Mr Ronald McPherson

Public Service Medal (PSM)                      

Ms Pauline Bagdonavicius

Mrs Noelene Jennings

Mrs Lee Musumeci

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them now at
View all Articles
Skip to content