group of people smile at camera on staircase
The Governor and Ms Annus with Ms Gail Beck and Mr Marty Sibosado, Co-Chairs, Aboriginal Affairs Council of Western Australia, and Council members – Merle Carter, Linda Dridi, Gordon Gray, Corina Martin, Peter Riley, Vicki O’Donnell, Jonathan Ford and Daniel Brown.

25th February 2020 • Aboriginal Advisory Council of Western Australia

The Governor and Ms Annus hosted an afternoon tea for the Aboriginal Advisory Council of Western Australia (AACWA) – the State’s primary Aboriginal advisory body.

The afternoon tea provided an opportunity for the Governor and Ms Annus to congratulate the members on their recent appointments to the Council, following the announcement by Hon Ben Wyatt MLA, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs on the 22nd October 2019.

As a statutory board under the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972, the Council will play a key role in State priorities including the development of an Aboriginal Empowerment Strategy, Closing the Gap, Aboriginal youth suicide and reduced incarceration of Aboriginal people in custody.

AACWA meets up to six times per year to provide advice on a range of policy matters.

View all Articles
Skip to content