Swearing in
The Governor swears in The Hon Don Punch MLA at today’s ceremony in the Government House Ballroom.

Swearing-in of the new Western Australian Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries

A significant day for all Western Australian’s today with the swearing-in of the Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries to the new-look McGowan Government.

The ceremony took place at Government House, with the Governor first presiding over Executive Council to establish the structure for a new Ministry, as well as officially appointing the eleven new Parliamentary Secretaries.

Following Executive Council, the Governor then accepted the resignation of Premier Mark McGowan and his Ministers ahead of the formal ceremony in the Government House Ballroom.

Under the constitution the Governor, in his role as Chair of Executive Council, held the position of sole governing authority in the State of Western Australia for the time between the end of Executive Council and the swearing-in of the Premier of Western Australia an hour later.

Photo – Premier Mark McGowan MLA is sworn in at Government House

Photo – Deputy Premier Roger Cook MLA is congratulated by the Governor

Today’s ceremony saw eighteen Cabinet Minsters take an Oath of Office or Affirmation and the Oath as a Member of the Executive Council in front of family, friends and colleagues. With the Cabinet officially sworn-in the Governor then invited the eleven Parliamentary Secretaries to take the affirmation of office.

In his address the Governor congratulated the new Ministry and urged them to continue to do the very best for the community they now serve.

Photo – The Governor addressing today’s gathering in the Government House Ballroom

Premier Mark McGowan thanked his Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries and spoke of the great honour that they have all received in being elected by the people of Western Australia.

“We all have great hopes and expectations for what we can, and will, accomplish together,” said the Premier. “Mark my words we will do great things together. The public has put a large amount of faith in our team and we will repay that faith.”

Photo – The Government House Ballroom was the venue for today’s swearing-in conducted by the Governor

Photo – The Governor, Ms Carly Lane, Deputy Premier Roger Cook, Premier Mark McGowan, Mrs Sarah McGowan and Ms Susie Annus



Following the official ceremony the Governor and Ms Annus invited guests to join them on the Government House Terrace for refreshments and to celebrate today’s event.


The Premier with Adam Hall and the Velvet Playboys, entertaining guests on the Terrace.

A full list of the new Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries can be found here.

View all Articles
Skip to content