Investiture medals laid out on table
WA recipients will be presented their medals by the Governor at an Investiture Ceremony in September

Western Australians recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours List

84 remarkable West Australians have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours List for their exceptional service or achievement in our community.

The Governor-General and Chancellor of the Order of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), today announced 1,190 outstanding and inspirational Australians who have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours List.

Included in the list are:

  • 947 recipients of awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia (5 AC, 50 AO, 252 AM and 640 OAM)
  • 33 recipients of awards in the Military Division of the Order of Australia (1 AO, 14 AM and 18 OAM)
  • 139 meritorious awards
  • 71 Gallantry, Distinguished and Conspicuous awards

Australian women have broken a record in 2021 with the highest percentage (44% or 416) of female Order of Australia recipients in an honours list since the introduction of the Australian Honours System in 1975. Western Australian women were slightly above the national average, with 47.5% of women being awarded medals in WA.

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia will formally invest Western Australian recipients with the insignia of their appointments and awards at an Investiture Ceremony in September.

The 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours list includes recipients being recognised (at least in part) for their contribution in support of Australia’s response to the 2019-20 bushfires and COVID-19 pandemic. Because nominations for the Order of Australia (in particular) take time to process, research, and be considered, this is likely to be the very beginning of individuals recognised for this service.

The youngest recipient is 29 years old, the eldest is 100 years old. A complete list of recipients can be found on the Governor-General’s website.

Recipients announced in the list will be invested with their awards either by the Governor-General at Government House in Canberra, or by the State Governors.

 Western Australian recipients

 Western Australians were recognised across the following categories:

  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), for distinguished service of a high degree to Australia or to humanity at large: 7
  • Member of the Order of Australia (AM), for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group: 20
  • Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), awarded for service worthy of particular recognition: 45
  • Distinguished and Conspicuous: 6
  • Meritorious: 5

Read biographical notes for each recipient on the Governor General’s website

 Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Emeritus Professor Colin Binns
Professor Susan Fletcher
Dr Vanessa Guthrie
Mr Warwick Hemsley
Dr Margaret O’Neill
Mr Ian Trust
Professor Stephen Wilton

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia 

Associate Professor Lennie Barblett
Mr Marcus Canning
The Hon Cheryl Davenport
Dr Kenneth Evans
Mrs Marion Fulker
Ms Helen Hardcastle
Mr Kevin Holtom
Dr Andrew Lu OAM
The late Mrs Loisette Marsh
Professor Frank Mastaglia
The Hon Murray Montgomery
Mr Danny Murphy
Mrs Janette Owen
Ms Julie Shuttleworth
Mr Craig Smith-Gander
Dr Albert Tan
Professor Tele Tan
Dr Neil Turner
Dr Tracy Westerman
Ms Gina Williams

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division

The late Mr Nicholas Agocs
Associate Professor Ramesh Balasubramaniam
Mrs Marie Barns
Mr Kevin Beeck
Mrs Thelma Bevilaqua
Mr Henry Boston
Mr Dawson Bradford
Dr Betsy Buchanan
Dr Geoffrey Byrne
Mr Colin Cala
The late Mr John Caldon
Lieutenant Colonel Stephen Chamarette
Mrs Roberta Chapman
Mrs Heather Chester
Mr Giuseppe Cinanni
Mrs Jan Cooper
Mr Ian Eckersley
Mr Adrian Elder
Mx Misty Farquhar
Mr Richard GLoede
Dr Brian Gordon
Mrs Oriel Green
Mr Allan Guthrie
The Reverend Pam Halbert
Mrs Betty Hislop
Dr Edith Khangure
Mr Jeffrey King
Mr Alexander Lennox
Mrs Jacqueline Liddiard
Mr Ronald Louis
Ms Dorothy McConkey
Mr Marko Martinovich
Mr Thomas Massam
Ms Lauren Mitchell
Mrs Bella Perry
Mr John Perry
Mr Graham Sauvage
Mrs Cecilia Sounness
Mrs Kathryn Stokes
Dr Michele Toner
Ms Marjolein Towler
Dr John Bockxmeer
Mr Allan West
Mr Timothy White
Mr Gregory Young

Medal (CSC) Of The Order Of Australia In The Military Division
Commander Gavin Milkins RAN
Commander Darren White RAN

Medal (CSM) Of The Order Of Australia In The Military Division
Lieutenant Commander Sarah Eddes RAN
Chief Petty Officer Kerrin Lyon
Lieutenant Commander Trevor Teale
Lance Corporal N

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM)
Ms Susan Andrews
Ms Andrea Bowen
Ms Maria McGinty-Duggan
Ms Andrea Rees-Carter

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)
Mr Andrew Thompson

Australian Police Medal (APM)
Commander Allan Adams
Detective Superintendent Leo Ricciardi
Detective Senior Sergeant Joseph Marrapodi
Senior Constable Deslea Sloan

Ambulance Service Medal (ASM)
Ms Stacey Abbott
Mr Stephen Beaton
Mrs Anne Parsons

Emergency Services Medal (ESM)
Mr Michael Ellis
Mr Allen Gale 

Public Service Medal (PSM)
Ms Kirsten Chivers
Ms Nicki Godecke
Ms Kaylene Gulich

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them now at
All media enquiries about Australian Defence Force members should be directed to Defence Media Operations (02 6127 1999 or [email protected])
 Companions (AC), Officers (AO) and Members (AM) are appointed to the Order; Medals (OAM and meritorious awards) are awarded to recipients.





View all Articles
Skip to content