Australia Day Honours

Western Australians recognised in the Australia Day 2022 Honours List

Congratulations to all Western Australians recognised in the Australia Day 2022 Honours List for exceptional service or achievement in our community.

The Governor-General and Chancellor of the Order of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), has announced 732 awards in the Australia Day 2022 Honours List which recognise outstanding and inspirational Australians. 2022 marks the highest ever percentage of women recipients (47 per cent) and 45 per cent are for service to local communities.

86 recipients hail from the great state of Western Australia.

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia will formally invest Western Australian recipients with the insignia of their appointments and awards at an Investiture Ceremony in April.

The 2022 Australia Day Honours list includes some recipients being honoured for their contribution in support of Australia’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A complete list of recipients can be found on the Governor-General’s website.

Western Australian recipients

 Western Australians were recognised across the following categories:

  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), for distinguished service of a high degree to Australia or to humanity at large: 4
  • Member of the Order of Australia (AM), for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group: 14
  • Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), awarded for service worthy of particular recognition: 46
  • Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) Honorary: 2
  • Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) Military Division, awarded for service worthy of particular recognition: 2
  • Distinguished and Conspicuous Service: 3
  • Meritorious: 15

Read biographical notes for each recipient on the Governor General’s website

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Dr John Sylvester Gladstones
Professor Geoffrey Richard Lancaster
Ms Lena Nyadbi
Mrs Georgina Hope Rinehart

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia 

Mr Peter Grant Airey
Ms Susan Jennifer Boyd
Professor Denise Chalmers
Ms Judith Anne Hogben
Ms Carol Innes
Mr Charles Ross Johnson
Mr James Francis McMahon
Professor Paul Norman
Mr Kevin George Owens
Professor Bronwyn Gwenneth Stuckey
Professor Marc Tennant
Professor Sandra Claire Thompson
Mr Richard Bruce Porter
Mr Daniel Joseph Ricciardo

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division

Ms Claire Lynette Brittain
Mr Paul Lewin Carter
Mr Brian Eric Carthew
Dr Michael Jon Donaldson
Ms Claire Luize Eardley
Mr Malcolm Leslie Edward
Dr Louise Farrell
Dr Criena Fitzgerald
Mr Anthony Arthur Fowler
Mrs Silvana Gaglia
Professor Kurt Aaron Gebauer
Mrs Rosemary Ann Harrison
Mrs Patricia Jean Hart
Ms Judith Hugo
Mr Terence Carson Keys
Mr Brian Peter Landers
Mr Walter John Lord
Ms Annabelle Karri McIntyre
Mrs Lesley Margaret McNee
Mr Douglas Philip Melville
Mrs Lesley Murphy
Mrs Barbara Dawn Norrish
Mr Peter Nosow
Ms Vicki O’Donnell
Mrs Joan Peters
Mrs Carol Pettersen
Mr Peter Hamilton Polain
Mr Ben Popham
Mr Leslie James Power
Mr Julius Caesar Re
The late Mr Hugh Arthur Rogers
Ms Michelle Scott
Ms Lynette Joan Serventy
Mrs Moya Sharp
Mrs Lynette Joy Shepherd
Mrs Elizabeth Anne Shepherdson
Mrs Shirley Stephen
Ms Juliana Elsie Stonor
Mrs Judy Elizabeth Thonell
Ms Brianna Throssell
Mr Nicholas Gordon Underwood
Ms Jude van der Merwe
Mr Mark Wainwright
Mr Matthew Wearn
Ms Jillian Gwyneth Willoughby
Ms Samantha Kerr
Mr Nicholas Duncan (Honorary)
Miss Paula Denise Wagg (Honorary)

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the Military Division
Warrant Officer Dane Lawson Field
Warrant Officer Class One Bradley Norman Foster

Public Service Medal (PSM)
Mr Anthony Michael Kannis
Dr Mark William Sweetingham
Ms Anna Maria Wyatt

Australian Police Medal (APM)
Inspector Jeffrey Victor Andrijasevich
Sergeant Rulan Kate Carr
Commander Darren Francis Seivwright
Inspector Dean Trovarello
Detective Superintendent Rodney James Wilde

Ambulance Service Medal (ASM)
Mr Sarel De Koker
Mr Clifford Leonard Fishlock
Ms Jacqueline Louise Mackay

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM)
Mr James Hosie
Mrs Christine Anne Laird
Mr Timothy Louis Sanders
Mr James Anatoli Schilo

Medal (CSM) of the Order Of Australia in the Military Division
Leading Seaman Tenielle Katherine Walter

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them here.




View all Articles
Skip to content