Australian Honours

The Australian Honours System, established in 1975, recognises the special contribution Australian citizens make to their communities locally, nationally, and internationally across a wide range of fields.

Activities meriting an honour have included voluntary work, contributions to the Arts, Industry, Commerce, Education, Health, Charities, the Professions, the Armed Services, and acts of bravery.

Awards and honours are approved by the Governor-General and are announced on Australia Day, 26th January and on The Queen’s official birthday, usually the second Monday in June. Australian Bravery Decorations are announced in March and August.


An Australian citizen can be nominated for an honour by an individual, a community organisation, a professional body or similar group.

Submit an electronic form

Australian Honours and Awards Secretariat (external link)

Request a printed form

Request a printed form by contacting the Honours Secretariat:

The Honours Secretariat
Government House
Canberra ACT 2600
Phone: (02) 6283 3533

More information

If you have any questions about the nomination process, email [email protected]

For general information, visit Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet ‘It’s an Honour’ (external link)

Presentation of Honours in Western Australia

An important part of the Governor’s role is the recognition of significant service and outstanding contribution to the Western Australian community.

The Governor conducts official investiture ceremonies in Government House Ballroom twice annually, usually in April and September, to formally invest Western Australian recipients with their national honours and awards.

The Governor’s Establishment advises recipients in writing of investiture ceremony arrangements in the weeks following the announcement of the awards.

Investiture ceremonies

View videos and livestreams in the frames below.

Friday, 6th September 2019

Thursday, 5th September 2019

Skip to content