men and women perform in quartet

Restart the Arts^16th August – Cygnus Arioso present ‘The Power of Strings’ in the Ballroom

Cygnus Arioso are performing as part of the Restart the Arts with Government House initiative

Join Cygnus Arioso as they continue their quest to bring live music back to Perth.

Building on the success of their highly successful Paganini Caprice Relay (performed online by 17 violinists on a Zoom conference call), this concert brings some of these players together in person for the first time.

In this new string orchestra formation, Cygnus Arioso can at last revive the power of ensemble performance. The delightful tunes of Mozart’s Divertimento in F capture the youthful yet poised craft of the genius at 16 years of age. And although Tchaikovsky was said to have imitated Mozart’s style in his Serenade, the work stands out as one of his finest: full of grace, poise, and melodies of exquisite beauty.

When: Sunday, 16th August

Time: 2-3pm

Tickets and more information: Tickets $35, book via Eventbrite


W.A. Mozart: Divertimento for Strings KV 138

P. Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings C major, Opus 48


Violin: Kate Sullivan, Emmalena Huning, Karen Matoba, Yasmin Omran, Shannon Rhodes, Lisa Smith, Eddie Havlat, Lawrence Lee, Akiko Miyazawa

Viola: Elliot O’Brien, Kathy Potter, Ariel Postmus

Violincello: Sacha McCulloch, Miranda Murray-Young

Double Bass: John Keene

Skip to content